The Royal Charter of Incorporation of the Company of Merchant Taylors of the City of York was issued by King Charles II on 26th April 1662, but the company traces its origins back to the three medieval guilds of tailors, drapers and hosiers. Tailors appear in the City's Freemen from 1273, the earliest references to guild organisation are the ordinances and register of members dating from 1387

The History of the Company

With a history that spans wars, political and economic upheavals, and plagues, the Company of Merchant Taylors of the City of York enjoys a unique connection to the City and the wider world.

Although tailors appear in the City's Freemen from 1273, the earliest references to guild organisation are the ordinances and register of members dating from 1387, which were entered in the city's memorandum book among the City Archives.

 

In medieval times, the tailors were closely associated with the religious and charitable confraternity of St. John the Baptist, the fraternity that built the present Hall. During this period, the York Tailors enjoyed a golden age, playing a major role in the social and economic life of the City. As one of the leading York City craft guilds, the tailors also played an important role in the famous sequence of York Corpus Christi mystery plays.

 

The Company’s archives survive in greater quantities from the reign of Elizabeth I. The earliest surviving Apprentice Register begins in 1605 and shows that during the following four years, 165 boys were apprenticed within the Company. About a fifth were born in the City, the remainder being nearly all immigrants from nearby Yorkshire villages. Such a pattern of recruitment remained usual for the next two centuries.

 

Until the 1830s the Merchant Taylors’ Company, which included a few women among its members, was essentially a working body of master tailors, York freemen of some substance but rarely of outstanding status or wealth within their City. Only by leasing their Hall for a variety of purposes, mostly educational, theatrical or convivial, did they succeed – where most other once celebrated medieval English guilds eventually failed – in preserving their buildings into the early nineteenth century.

 

When the Municipal Corporations Act formally removed all guild restrictions on industrial activity in 1835,the Company of the York Taylors—and their Hall—faced their greatest crisis by far. Indeed, they were almost unknown to most residents and visitors to the City.

 

Until within living memory, the Hall stood in seclusion behind a row of unprepossessing cottages on the north side of Aldwark. Throughout the Victorian period, the Hall provided a suitable site for elementary schooling. Although severe financial problems continuously plagued the Company, the continuity of its membership was never allowed to lapse completely.

 

Thanks to the labours of Mr H E Harrowell, a well-known York solicitor, and many others, from the late 1930s onwards, the Great and Little Halls have gradually been restored to their former splendour. Now maintained by the Members of the Company, it stands as a memorial to six centuries of continuous, if ever-changing, guild history and to the endeavours of the many generations of Merchant Taylors who have preserved it from oblivion and ensured the Company is the thriving and vibrant charity it is today.